Hugo Awards

The Hugo Awards are the most prestigious award in the science fiction genre, honouring literature and media as well as fan activities. The awards were first presented in 1953, and have been presented every year since 1955.

The Hugo Awards has more information and details of past winners. The award categories, and their definitions, are set out in the WSFS Constitution.

CoNZealand administers the 2020 Hugo Awards and the 1945 Retro Hugos. This also includes the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book, and the Astounding Award for Best New Writer.

The 2020 Hugos will celebrate activity and works released for the first time in 2019, and the 1945 Retro Hugos similarly honour the achievements of 1944.

Nominations for the 2020 Hugos and 1945 Retro Hugos will open around the start of 2020.