New entrance requirements for New Zealand from 1 October

Entrance requirements to New Zealand (NZ) are changing on 1 October 2019. Please read these instructions carefully, even if you have travelled to NZ before.

The key change is that New Zealand is introducing a pre-travel electronic authorisation process, called an NZeTA (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority). This authorisation must be obtained in advance of travel, and will apply to many citizens of countries included in the Visa Waiver programme, including the United States of America, the UK and most European countries (full list here).

Once an NZeTA has been obtained, most citizens of Visa Waiver programme countries will be able to travel to NZ as a tourist without a visa for up to 9 months in an 18-month period if they meet certain requirements.

Points to note:

  • Australian citizens do not need an NZeTA.
  • Allow up to 72 hours for processing, although it could take as little as 10 minutes.
  • You may also have to pay an International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL). The IVL costs NZD $35 and is paid at the same time as the NZeTA.
  • From 1 October 2019, even if you are from a visa waiver country, you must hold an NZeTA before you travel.
  • A NZeTA request costs NZD $9 on the free app, or NZD $12 if completed online.
  • Check that your passport will not expire within 3 months after the date you plan to leave New Zealand.

For more information about the NZ Electronic Travel Authority, visit the NZ Immigration website.